Quiet Day Today

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Today was a rest day for me here in Breckenridge. I spent the morning up at the ski resort hiking , and got down off the mountain just as the sky opened up with rain.
I spent most of the afternoon browsing around town and looking at some of the art shops. Later in in the afternoon I returned to the hostel where I am staying and met my new roomate, Arvind, a post-doc researcher in mathematical physics at Princeton. We went out to dinner, and were joined by Wes, who has the room across from us, and is a fellow teacher (math) at a high school in Kansas City.
We ate dinner at a Thai place which had a…………….9 foot hammerhead mounted on the wall! I have seen lots of dead animals hanging on the walls in the cafe’s throughout Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, and Colorado, but this is the first shark! So, I told the manager of our campaign, and hope it will make a difference.
Tomorrow I am back on the road, headed for either Hartsell or Guffey. The weather has been quite stormy in the afternoon, so my plan is to leave early and try to get over Hoosier Pass (11380′) by 9 am. Once I reach the pass, it’s all downhill (whoohoo!). I am eager to pedal again; it seems once you get into the pattern of riding, you just want to keep going.
Not sure there will be service tomorrow, I’ll do my best to keep you all informed. And to all of you who are following and supporting this effort, I send my love and gratitude.

Photo is of Wes (left) and Arvind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quiet Day Today

  1. Janice Rosner says:

    what a fabulous adventure you are having! It seems like it’s really evolving into a rich experience. I’m so enjoying your blogs and are sooooo envious of your travels.

Leave a Reply

