Great Ride and No Horseflies!

image

image

image

image

I had very fine ride today, and the dreaded horseflies from yesterday never showed up. Now it may be that they were taking a break today, or it may be that I had long sleeves and long pants,along with bug repellent on every square inch of exposed skin. In any case,they never materialized, and for that I am so grateful!
I got an early start and pedalled about 22 miles through the rolling sage and grasslands of “North Park “. There were so few cars that I was ably to enjoy the entire lane for a long ways – which was really nice. I took a short break in Rand then began a 10 mile, 800′ ascent. I felt strong today, and was able to move along at 6-7mph (compared to my more typical 4-5). After the summit -another crossing of the continental divide – I began a long,long descent,probably close to 20 miles. It was beautiful! Very much the Rocky Mountains. Tonight I am camped at a town called Hot Sulfur Springs, and indeed they are hot and smelly! But the soak felt terrific, and I feel ready for another 60 mile day (of mostly climbing ) Tuesday.
To everyone who is sending notes and wishing me well, I can”t tell you how much that means to me,and how much it is appreciated. You guys are all the best. I feel certain that we will eventually succeed in ending the slaughter of sharks- but it will take determination and persistence.

The one restaurant in this town is closing in 30 minutes, so I’d better go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Ride and No Horseflies!

  1. Janice Rosner says:

    Hi Mark,
    I guess this is better late than never. When we got back from Monterey I checked in on the site but then changed my email address as of July 1. Anyway, we have been thinking about you and wondering where you are, so now I know. I’m envious of your great adventure. I can’t wait to share your story and pics with Kai. I’ll get out a map and show him where you are. Anyway, we are really inspired by you and your activism. I just previewed another film the other night on sharks that is an entry to the festival. It was very hard to watch. Enjoy Colorado. Janice

Leave a Reply

